Unleash Your Padel Potential

Padel Rules 101: The Receiving Serve

2 min read

Padel Rules 101: The Receiving Serve

Are you new to the sport of padel and trying to learn the rules? Look no further, in this article we will delve into the receiving serve.

The serve is the start of every point, so it’s important to understand the rules around receiving. Unlike in tennis, in padel the serve must bounce off the ground before being hit. This means that the receiver can stand closer to the net to try and intercept the serve.

However, the receiver cannot touch the ball until it has bounced on their side of the court. If they hit the ball before it has bounced, it’s a point for the serving team.

After the serve has bounced, the receiver has two options: they can either let the ball bounce again and hit it on the second bounce, or they can hit the ball before it bounces a second time. It’s important to note that if the receiver chooses to let the ball bounce twice, they must let it hit the ground before hitting it back.

Another rule when receiving serve is that the receiver’s partner cannot cross the middle line until the serve has been hit. If they do cross before the serve is hit, it’s a point for the serving team.

The receiver also has the option to call a “let” if they were not ready to receive the serve. This means that the serve will be retaken. However, if the serve was good and the ball hit the receiver’s paddle, then the point will still count.

Lastly, if the ball hits the net on a serve and lands in the correct service box, it’s called a “let” and the serve is taken again.

Now that you understand the basics of receiving serve in padel, get out on the court and put your knowledge to the test. Remember, always let the ball bounce before hitting it, and keep an eye on your partner to avoid any crossed lines. Have fun and enjoy the game!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.